ONA Webinars

Note our changed rates during the pandemic: the Church Group rate of $75 now allows an unlimited number of participants log in individually from home, or your church can attend all of the webinars with our discounted Season Pass, also for unlimited participants at home. Our lower rate of $25 allows up to three participants. Registration for individual webinars is below.

ONA WEBINAR SEASON PASS

Our webinars are designed both for Open and Affirming congregations and for churches taking their first steps towards an ONA covenant. Dates and a link to the registration page for each webinar are provided below.

All webinars are on Zoom at 7 p.m. Eastern, 6 p.m. Central, 5 p.m. Mountain, 4 p.m. Pacific, 3 p.m. Alaska and 1 p.m. Hawai’i, and run for about 90 minutes. We’ll email information on how to use the Zoom app when you register. If there are multiple participants, only the person making the reservation will receive the login info: this should be shared with other participants.

Contact Andy Lang at ed@openandaffirming.org or Kimi Floyd Reisch at ona@openandaffirming.org for more information. Remember that extensive resources on each subject are available on this website!

Help us improve our webinars! After you participate, please fill out our online evaluation.

ONA 101

For congregations that are not yet ONA, this webinar will help you design an ONA process that builds consensus and reduces the risk of conflict. Based on the principle of "graceful engagement," a well-planned ONA process can help a congregation deepen relationships and discover new passion for the Gospel. Led by Coalition Executive Director Andy Lang.

Thursday, Oct. 15

REGISTER NOW!

1-TO-1 CONVERSATIONS ABOUT ONA

"One-to-One Conversations" are an important early step for churches on the way to an ONA covenant. Kimi Floyd Reisch, the Coalition's Minister for ONA Program, will show how members of your ONA team can plan these conversations for your church. Practice sessions in small groups will be included. With careful preparation, these conversations are an effective way to build relationships and invite church members into the ONA journey.

Thursday, Oct. 22

REGISTER NOW!

ONA and the BIBLE

Just seven short texts from the Bible are sometimes an obstacle for congregations on their journey towards an Open and Affirming covenant. But there are more than 31,000 verses in your Bible! What does the Bible teach about our relationships with God and each other? And how should you respond when members of your church have questions about the seven texts often used to condemn same-sex relationships? Led by Andy Lang.

Thursday, Oct. 29

REGISTER NOW!

TRANS/NONBINARY 101

An introduction to the diversity of trans and nonbinary identities and experiences. Trans people have particularly been targeted by the current Administration, which seeks to roll back their basic civil rights and narrow their options for health care. The stories of your trans and nonbinary neighbors, their courage and deep faith, will enrich your congregation. Led by the Coalition's president, the Rev. Mak Kneebone.

Thursday, Nov. 5

REGISTER NOW!

TRANS/NONBINARY 201

This webinar continues and deepens our understanding of transgender and nonbinary identities. Led by Kimi Floyd Reisch .

Thursday, Nov. 12

REGISTER NOW!

BISEXUALITY/PANSEXUALITY 101

Join Kimi Floyd Reisch for an exploration of what it means to be bisexual or pansexual, and why it's important to welcome and include bi-people in your congregation.

Thursday, Dec. 3

REGISTER NOW!

ONA 201

ONA congregations that are visible and public in their commitment to inclusion can grow in numbers and spirit. This webinar shares best practices from growing ONA churches, including tips for marketing, communication, evangelism and advocacy. Led by Coalition Executive Director Andy Lang.

Thursday, Oct. 8
Thursday, Nov. 19

REGISTER NOW!